Sewing Machine Reviews

Whats the best sewing machine to buy..? Which Singer sewing machine is the most reliable and best value..?

Most sewing machine reviews and buyers guides focus on number of stitches, which automatic patterns it has etc. But the most important decision when buying a sewing machine is will what brand to buy ?

This decision alone determines the quality of the sewing machine you will get, how long it is likely to last, its reliability and how easy it will be to buy parts and to get it repaired in the future. We all know of Singer's worldwide reputation for sewing machines that last, just look at all the old black and gold heavyweight machines of the past. Many of these 50, 60 and 70 year old Singer sewing machines we are still get parts for. remarkable..!

Now that you have selected a world leading sewing machine manufacturer, Singer. Only then should you start to investigate specific features. Use these consumer reviews, ratings to help make this most important decision. Find advice from real customer who have used our sewing machines, overlockers and steam presses and have left their comments, which in turn will help you choose the best model for your needs.

Later when you are ready, maybe call back and add your own feedback to help others in their future decision in choosing a sewing machine. Reviews and ratings can be added at the product details page after clicking the review tab. You may also be interested in steam press reviews or what our customers say about the service we provide.
 

Singer Sewing Machine Reviews
  • Review by NicolaM

    80%

    I originally bought this through Amazon and was very upset that it was the American version so I had to send it back. I had phoned Singer and they were really helpful and gave me the phone number of a chap who demonstrates them and could sell me a UK version. Sadly I had to pay out an additional £150 but it was worth it. I love the fact that it has speed control. My only grip is the measurements on the metal plate are hard to see and I have to get my ruler out. They do not match up to the ruler on the front of the machine. I have only had this for a few weeks and already I have made several projects. I can make household items easily but I am having a go at dressmaking for the first time and enjoying it very much. Great machine for someone who likes to take it slow.

    Location: Kent

    Posted on 5th of November 2019

  • Review by Jackie

    80%

    Like any new sewing machine, you will need to set aside a few hours to start with just to get used to it. During this time I got the hang of the needle threader and bobbin feed. I had a couple of items of clothing to alter. The first went like a dream, the machine seemed to do all of the work. The next one was a really fine polyester elastane, which seemed trickier despite trying out lots of different types of needles and stitches. I am generally happy with this purchase and particularly at the price and delivery offered by Singer Machines Ltd., so much cheaper than High Street prices. I bought this machine because of its ability to sew heavier fabrics, which I have not yet done. It is early days for me, hence only four stars at the moment.

    Location: West Sussex

    Posted on 1st of November 2019

  • Review by Bob Arter

    100%

    Excellent machine although could be improved with a simple addition of a needle threader! Speed is good though!

    Location: Crawley, West Sussex

    Posted on 1st of November 2019

  • Review by Bob Arter

    Excellent machine although could be improved with a simple addition of a needle threader! Speed is good though!

    Location: Crawley, West Sussex

    Posted on 1st of November 2019

  • Review by Brian Lewis

    100%

    Excellent product and excellent service, my only concern is the lack of protection. I am going to look for a plastic container to put it in to protect it. It may be a good move on your part to source such a container and then offer it as an additional purchase.

    Location: Clwyd

    Posted on 1st of November 2019

  • Review by MIchael McCann

    100%

    Bought the 4423 to sew canvas canopy for our boat and was capable of sewing 2 layers of canvas, 1 webbings and vinyl window material with relative easy, courteous of the 90 watt motor Simple controls and easy threading of needle makes the 4423 a highly recommended sewing machine at an affordable price Fast delivery to Ireland

    Location: Co. Kildare Ireland

    Posted on 1st of November 2019

  • Review by Julie Whelan

    100%

    Delighted with the swift prompt delivery, the sewing machine is just what I wanted and meets all my needs

    Location: Blackpool

    Posted on 1st of November 2019

  • Review by Ioana Marginean

    100%

    I highly recommend.Very please about my purchase.This sewing machine can makes happy anyone : newer sewers or experienced ones .A very good and prompt service. Thank you

    Location: Plymouth

    Posted on 1st of November 2019

  • Review by Janet

    100%

    I have purchased this machine as I want one that can handle home furnishings as well as standard dressmaking. So basic and reliable are the qualities I was looking for. It stitches beautifully and is very user friendly. I purchased some canvas online for particular project which turned out to be heavier and stiffer than I was expecting. Nevertheless the machine has coped with it well. It did arrive with just one spare needle which I would have to say seems a little unnecessarily mean but all in all I am delighted with this simple sturdy machine which is already proving to be the workhorse I had hoped it would be.

    Location: E Sussex

    Posted on 1st of November 2019

  • Review by Clara Fernandez Pakter

    100%

    I wanted to wait a couple of days after I had used the sewing machine. I'm thrilled. Haven't stopped since I received it. I must say I'm a beginner and all I remember was learning to sew with my grandma with an old singer model. Every detail of this model is great. Simple and easy. I have sat down with all the videos and practiced. I am really happy and recommend it to anyone who likes to sew. Any level. I have also purchased different presser feet to try new things. It's lovely. Thanks Clara

    Location: Manchester

    Posted on 25th of October 2019

  • Review by Susieq

    100%

    Purchased machine after old one finally died. Mind you it was 40 years old, used to be my Mum's. New one is great to use, is nice and quiet. Perfect machine for everyday use.

    Location: Woodhall Soa

    Posted on 25th of October 2019

  • Review by susan courtenay

    100%

    Very pleased with my machine. I am going to get a lot of pleasure using it. It is very quiet and smooth.

    Location: trowbridge

    Posted on 25th of October 2019

  • Review by Sarah Power

    100%

    Speedy delivery. Was very pleased with my new sewing machine. Does everything it say on the description. Have found it easy to use.

    Location: Ainsdale Southport

    Posted on 25th of October 2019

  • Review by Jacqueline

    100%

    Replaced my 50 yr.old model (my 21st birthday present) with this lighter, more modern machine and couldn't be more pleased. Such value for money and inspiring , easy-to-use features. Need to buy more material now!

    Location: West Yorkshire

    Posted on 25th of October 2019

Items 1 to 14 of 488 total

Show per page