Sewing Machine Reviews

Whats the best sewing machine to buy..? Which Singer sewing machine is the most reliable and best value..?

Most sewing machine reviews and buyers guides focus on number of stitches, which automatic patterns it has etc. But the most important decision when buying a sewing machine is will what brand to buy ?

This decision alone determines the quality of the sewing machine you will get, how long it is likely to last, its reliability and how easy it will be to buy parts and to get it repaired in the future. We all know of Singer's worldwide reputation for sewing machines that last, just look at all the old black and gold heavyweight machines of the past. Many of these 50, 60 and 70 year old Singer sewing machines we are still get parts for. remarkable..!

Now that you have selected a world leading sewing machine manufacturer, Singer. Only then should you start to investigate specific features. Use these consumer reviews, ratings to help make this most important decision. Find advice from real customer who have used our sewing machines, overlockers and steam presses and have left their comments, which in turn will help you choose the best model for your needs.

Later when you are ready, maybe call back and add your own feedback to help others in their future decision in choosing a sewing machine. Reviews and ratings can be added at the product details page after clicking the review tab. You may also be interested in steam press reviews or what our customers say about the service we provide.
 

Singer Sewing Machine Reviews
  • Review by Sandra

    80%

    I have just received my new Singer futura ce 250 and it is superb. It stitches out embroidery designs very well and bigger than my Brother PE150. The software included didnt load on the first attempt, however now it works as it should. I can create my own machine embroidery and work untill after midnight again. The button holes and normal sewing stitches function well. Overall it is very good value for the money.

    Location: Newcastle

    Posted on 5th of November 2007

  • Review by Mags

    60%

    After much internet investigation decided upon the CE250 (mainly because old old machine (Melodie 20) is singer and loved it. I was very eager to get going but the beep beep beep is driving me up the wall (internal computer) The embroidery unit works brillant with the included designs but have spent hours trying to get it to embroider pictures that I have drawn using the autopunch (simple pictures as I am no artist). The stitching jumps from left to right with no logic leaving me with lots of unnecessary threads to cut off. Ordinary sewing works fine but on setting width and lenght of the satin stitch needs always to be tested. The widest differs from time to time in which case the machine needs to be switched on and off. I chose the machine because I love my PC and had great hope for joining it to a sewing machine but have to wonder for the money is there better out there?

    Location: Ireland

    Posted on 27th of October 2007

  • Review by Penny

    100%

    I had a terrible problem with the installation of the Futura software having bought it a month ago. The problem as it turns out is nothing to do with Singer but Microsoft who sent out an updagte to XP which conflicted with the software. There is a simple solution in deleting this update and now my machine and its software functions marvellously. I adore my new machine and am just a little worried that my work and house will fall into disrepair, as I spend hours having fun designing and experimenting. Thanks especially to the guys at Singer Machines for their help and patience in discovering what the cause of our problem was and finding a solution.

    Location: Austria

    Posted on 19th of September 2007

  • Review by Melissa

    100%

    I bought my Futura in April and love it! I agree there are some things that could be improved but for the price I think it works great. I have a question though- hopefully someone can help me. Id like to combine designs on one file but I cant figure out how to do it. For example, I purchased some applique alphabets online but can only embroider one letter at a time. Id like to be able to embroider a whole word at once. I heard I could buy software to achieve this and dont want to spend that if its something already included in the software. Any suggestions? As for Kims question regarding the zipper foot...you can purchase one from this site. Just type in the model. You can either get one that just pops on and off the existing sewing shank or buy one with a different shank that you would screw on and off like the embroidery foot(which would be a pain to take on and off).

    Location: San Diego

    Posted on 15th of September 2007

  • Review by Tara Homer

    100%

    I absoulutly love this machine, i recieved the futura as a belated birthday/christmas present. It was fairly simple to use and my husband (a computer expert) sorts all the software issues out and regularly downloads new designs for me to try out, even my 4 yr old loves to sit and watch it work. Admittedly i havent the patience to sort the designs out thats my husbands job as he knows pcs better then me. I have recently been playing with the cross stitch part and christmas designs are looking fabulous, plus the photo section is great i have done pictures of friends children are anniversary gifts. Now i have a steady strem of orders for cards and pictures. Great little business starter.

    Location: Ireland

    Posted on 7th of September 2007

  • Review by Cindy London

    100%

    I have had quite a few sewing machines. This one tops them all! I cant believe how much functionality this machine has. I have to wear name tags where I work and now I have my name on all my uniforms, so I can never forget my name tag again. The possibilities with this Futura machine are endless. I find that if you read everything carefully then things tend to fall into place, and if you are computer literate at all things are generally easy to figure out.

    Location: NB Canada

    Posted on 27th of June 2007

  • Review by Francesca

    80%

    I have never used a sewing machine and wanted to start but I have no idea where from! I bought this easy-to-use nachine and the results so far are great!

    Location: Glasgow

    Posted on 20th of June 2007

  • Review by Jacqui Coshall

    100%

    I bought this sewing machine after my trusty old steed decided to give up. I just wanted a simple to use basic machine and this is it. Light to carry, easy to use and very easy to follow instruction leaflet.

    Location: Staines

    Posted on 10th of June 2007

  • Review by Sara

    100%

    Very easy to use, after using the automatic needle threader, threading the bobbin then pressing the stitch button... away i go. simple.

    Location: North London

    Posted on 8th of June 2007

  • Review by j fisher

    100%

    A good machine with easy stich selection. Its easy to thread and use. Good value for money. Fast delivery as well thanks.

    Location: cheshire

    Posted on 30th of May 2007

  • Review by insha

    100%

    After alot of searching through the internet i found this ce250 was the best one to buy. it was my first time to learn how to sew and this machine gave me everything i need. Now i sew all the time no-one can stop me. I could use it with the pc which i never used to use now my husband cant get me away from it, he thinks its brilliant ! What i could do with this sewing machine all these designs i show him when he comes from work. I've even put logos on his shirts and his mates give him thier shirts to do the same.

    Location: england

    Posted on 5th of February 2007

  • Review by KIM

    80%

    I HAVE BEEN A SINGER OWNER SINCE 1963 AND WHEN I PURCHASED THIS FUTURA I INTENDED TO ADD EMBROIDERY AND QUILTING TO MY ACHEIVMENTS. BUT THERE IS NO ZIPPER FOOT FOR THIS MACHINE WHICH MEANS I WOULD HAVE TO KEEP AN OLDER MODEL TO DO ANY ZIPPER INSTALLATIONS. DOES ANYONE KNOW IF THERE IS A ZIPPERFOOT ATTACHMENT FOR THIS MACHINE. OTHER THAN THAT I LOVE THE MACHINE. EXCEPT I KEEP GETTING THE CODE 88 (WHICH IS NOT COVERED IN THE MANUAL)AND HAVE TO SHUT OFF THE MACHINE DURING SEWING FROM TIME TO TIME,

    Location: NEW YORK, USA

    Posted on 6th of January 2007

Items 561 to 572 of 572 total

Show per page