BLACK FRIDAY offers end 30th November
BLACK FRIDAY FREE GOODIES
BLACK FRIDAY REDUCED PRICES

Sewing Machine Reviews

Whats the best sewing machine to buy..? Which Singer sewing machine is the most reliable and best value..?

Most sewing machine reviews and buyers guides focus on number of stitches, which automatic patterns it has etc. But the most important decision when buying a sewing machine is will what brand to buy ?

This decision alone determines the quality of the sewing machine you will get, how long it is likely to last, its reliability and how easy it will be to buy parts and to get it repaired in the future. We all know of Singer's worldwide reputation for sewing machines that last, just look at all the old black and gold heavyweight machines of the past. Many of these 50, 60 and 70 year old Singer sewing machines we are still get parts for. remarkable..!

Now that you have selected a world leading sewing machine manufacturer, Singer. Only then should you start to investigate specific features. Use these consumer reviews, ratings to help make this most important decision. Find advice from real customer who have used our sewing machines, overlockers and steam presses and have left their comments, which in turn will help you choose the best model for your needs.

Later when you are ready, maybe call back and add your own feedback to help others in their future decision in choosing a sewing machine. Reviews and ratings can be added at the product details page after clicking the review tab. You may also be interested in steam press reviews or what our customers say about the service we provide.
 

Singer Sewing Machine Reviews
  • Review by Sue

    100%

    As a beginner to the world of sewing I have found this machine very easy to use. I only wanted something basic but find it excellent.

    Location: Edinburgh

    Posted on 28th of May 2009

  • Review by Karen Blake

    100%

    I am very happy with this machine, its so easy to use and the needle threader is brilliant and I dont have to oil it a job I did not like with my old machine, it runs smoothly and quietly and sewed through three thicknesses of denim easily. Another good feature is the button to do reverse sewing, at the begining and end of the work. The choice of stitches are great Im having fun experimenting with this machine I have many happy hours of sewing in front of me Regards Karen

    Location: West Midlands

    Posted on 14th of February 2009

  • Review by c harley

    100%

    A fantastic machine, so easy to use, and as a beginner to sewing I am more than pleased. Great selection of stitches.

    Location: Northumberland

    Posted on 7th of February 2009

  • Review by Jill Rowles

    100%

    I was very pleased with your service and ease of delivery, even though my machine was not in stock when I ordered it, it only took a few extra days, delivery was free and on time, a real bonus these days. I love Singer sewing machines, so all in all I am most impressed and very happy!!

    Location: Chippenham

    Posted on 26th of January 2009

  • Review by Pat

    100%

    The quality of the machine is fab, it has many features that I have never used before and I found them easy to learn as the instruction manual was very explicit. Loads of time saving facilities which have come in very useful when needed to make something to a time limit. I have been encouraged to try things that I have never thought I would.

    Location: France

    Posted on 18th of January 2009

  • Review by K Hart

    100%

    Having just completed a Soft Furnishing course consisiting of curtains to cushion covers, this machine was absolutely brilliant. It took all thicknesses with ease, ample bobbin quantity and so very easy to master and understand. A foolproof machine, a must for any amateur sewer.

    Location: Gibraltar

    Posted on 10th of October 2008

  • Review by Kitty Ogreid

    100%

    I am really pleased with the machine I have had other overlockers in the past but this one is great to sew with and really easy to thread. The service from ordering it and the delivery could not have been better. a big thanks to all who helped me.. Kitty Ogreid

    Location: Spain

    Posted on 12th of June 2008

  • Review by Maxine

    80%

    This was purchased as my first machine as a birthday present, and I find it really easy to use. I too agree that a heavier cover would be better for storage purposes. The 2273 is easy to use and the instruction book is clear and easy to follow. I would recommend this as a first machine to anyone.

    Location: Nuneaton

    Posted on 29th of May 2008

  • Review by Amy

    80%

    I learned to sew on my moms Singer. This singer is almost identical (functionally) to her Singer which she purchased over 30 years ago (with more features, stitch designs, etc). Singer sewing machines are so logically designed - the mechanics are obviously proven to work if there are so few changes over the span of 30 years! Im very happy with the 2273. Id have given it 5 stars if the picture in the manual showed how to load the bobbin a little bit better.

    Location: UK

    Posted on 17th of April 2008

  • Review by tich

    100%

    Easy to use, good, efficient and good for self development

    Location: Basildon

    Posted on 22nd of January 2008

  • Review by Carol

    100%

    I sew for a living and have finally run my old faithful 20+year old singers to death. I wanted a heavy, solid machine with just the basic stitches and the 2273 seems to fit the bill, with a few add ons. I like the disengage switch on the handwheel for bobbin winding, the decorative stretch stitches and the one step button hole function which seems to work best on heavier fabric. My one complaint so far is that the curved shape below the flat bed means the machine tilts if you apply too much pressure feeding fabric through. It will be used constantly and time will tell if it is up to the job. I did phone for advice and must say I am very satisfied with the level of service from this site.

    Location: Cornwall

    Posted on 11th of January 2008

  • Review by Mrs Heart

    80%

    My new Singer overlock machine does a fine job on thicker fabrics. It seems to feed the fabric better than my old overlocker. Also im glad i can get the feet and accessories i need here.

    Location: Birmingham, West Midlands

    Posted on 17th of November 2007

  • Review by Sara

    100%

    Very easy to use, after using the automatic needle threader, threading the bobbin then pressing the stitch button... away i go. simple.

    Location: North London

    Posted on 8th of June 2007

  • Review by j fisher

    100%

    A good machine with easy stich selection. Its easy to thread and use. Good value for money. Fast delivery as well thanks.

    Location: cheshire

    Posted on 30th of May 2007

Items 501 to 514 of 504 total

Show per page