Sewing Machine Reviews

Whats the best sewing machine to buy..? Which Singer sewing machine is the most reliable and best value..?

Most sewing machine reviews and buyers guides focus on number of stitches, which automatic patterns it has etc. But the most important decision when buying a sewing machine is will what brand to buy ?

This decision alone determines the quality of the sewing machine you will get, how long it is likely to last, its reliability and how easy it will be to buy parts and to get it repaired in the future. We all know of Singer's worldwide reputation for sewing machines that last, just look at all the old black and gold heavyweight machines of the past. Many of these 50, 60 and 70 year old Singer sewing machines we are still get parts for. remarkable..!

Now you have selected a world leading manufacturer, Singer. Only then should you start to investigate specific features. Use these consumer reviews, ratings to help make this most important decision. Find advice from real customer who have used our sewing machines, overlockers and steam presses and have left their comments, which in turn will help you choose the best model for your needs.

Later when you are ready, maybe call back and add your own feedback to help others in their future decision in choosing a sewing machine. Reviews and ratings can be added at the product details page after clicking the review tab. You may also be interested in steam press reviews or what our customers say about the service we provide.
 

1 Item(s)

  1. Review by Sandra Johnson
    Overall rating

    I am so pleased with this model Singer sewing machine. My old machine stopped working after 30 years, and so I decided I wanted a Singer machine, found the website, ordered it, and it was delivered the next day.
    The machine was so easy to set-up, and a joy to use.
    Thank you Singer.
    (Submitted on 4/9/2018)


  2. Review by Jill Merchant
    Overall rating

    Having just taken up sewing again, in my retirement, after a considerable time away I have enjoyed using this machine. It is simple to use with clear instruction in the manual and is very good value for money.. A joy to be back on (sewing) track! The customer service over the internet was very good and delivery not a problem.. Thank you - If we are down in Whitley Bay again we will be sure to look up the shop.
    (Submitted on 4/4/2018)


  3. Review by Michael Bender
    Overall rating

    Works well - excellent for me as a first time user.
    (Submitted on 4/4/2018)


  4. Review by Marthe LAW
    Overall rating

    Excellent buy. I am very pleased with it . I am 80 ,due to my eyesight I could not thread the needle on my previous machine and had nearly giving up sewing. That one has a needle threader which works well and at 80 I am back to sewing again. Other good things on this machine are:

    1) you can see the bobbin through the cover plate and check on your thread soon finishing
    2) the cover plate is so easily removed when you want to change the bobbin
    3) there is a powerful light above the needle
    4) when winding the bobbin (filling it with thread) the needle will automatically stop moving.

    The machine has other good things too like a selection of stitches and buttonhole making and button sewing . I have used these possibilities without any problems , they work well. the spool-pin is also a good little help.
    I recommend that machine
    (Submitted on 4/1/2018)


  5. Review by Aniko
    Overall rating

    Excellent machine, just exactly what i needed - perfect for tailoring across the whole range of fabrics, from silk mousseline to heavy tweed, also for small leather items.
    Sturdy and reliable. Easy maintenance (cleaning and oiling). Most satisfied with purchase.
    (Submitted on 3/19/2018)


  6. Review by Sarah
    Overall rating

    I am very happy with my first ever sewing machine. It is compact and lightweight and easy to use. I even managed by accident to remove the presser foot and replaced it without having to resort to the instruction manual. Really looking forward to creating dance costumes and seeing just how well it performs with slippery fabrics and stretch fabric. So far I have just had a play around, but I love it! Would definitely recommend as a first machine for someone wanting to get into making their own clothes.
    (Submitted on 3/10/2018)


  7. Review by Sarah
    Overall rating

    I bought this machine because I do a lot of quilting and my old machine was struggling to get through the layers of stuff. This machine is sturdy! The motor hums gently and the machine stays totally steady, no matter how thick the material. The only thing it struggled with was going over a really thick seam with reflective material, which bent the needle.

    The needle threader is brilliant - took a few minutes to work out but I have it sussed now. I have used the quilting arm to keep bundles of fabric steady and it works really well. The only issue I have is that the power cable seems to have a loose connection and needs wiggling sometimes to make the machine come on. My last machine kept going for about twenty years and I think this will manage at least that - well worth the money!
    (Submitted on 3/1/2018)


  8. Review by Brenda Brain
    Overall rating

    What a delight my new Singer 4423 is! I'm absolutely delighted with every aspect of its performance. it sews all weights of fabric, easy to operate and so fast. I've had it for less than a week and already made a patchwork cot quilt. So pleased with it. Thank you Singer.
    (Submitted on 2/22/2018)


  9. Review by Marc Hinchliffe
    Overall rating

    Straight forward enough for a beginner but enough features for advanced sewers. Not sure it's as heavy duty as my 1947 singer featherweight but they don't make them like that anymore!
    (Submitted on 2/15/2018)


  10. Review by Avril Webb
    Overall rating

    Great sewing machine so easy to use. Lighter than previous Singer of 30 odd years that has served me well but couldn’t carry or lift it anymore hope this one last as long.
    Instructions are very easy to follow. Would recommend
    (Submitted on 2/6/2018)


1 Item(s)