Sewing Machine Reviews

Whats the best sewing machine to buy..? Which Singer sewing machine is the most reliable and best value..?

Most sewing machine reviews and buyers guides focus on number of stitches, which automatic patterns it has etc. But the most important decision when buying a sewing machine is will what brand to buy ?

This decision alone determines the quality of the sewing machine you will get, how long it is likely to last, its reliability and how easy it will be to buy parts and to get it repaired in the future. We all know of Singer's worldwide reputation for sewing machines that last, just look at all the old black and gold heavyweight machines of the past. Many of these 50, 60 and 70 year old Singer sewing machines we are still get parts for. remarkable..!

Now you have selected a world leading manufacturer, Singer. Only then should you start to investigate specific features. Use these consumer reviews, ratings to help make this most important decision. Find advice from real customer who have used our sewing machines, overlockers and steam presses and have left their comments, which in turn will help you choose the best model for your needs.

Later when you are ready, maybe call back and add your own feedback to help others in their future decision in choosing a sewing machine. Reviews and ratings can be added at the product details page after clicking the review tab. You may also be interested in steam press reviews or what our customers say about the service we provide.
 

1 Item(s)

  1. Review by Joan Fagan
    Overall rating

    I am extremly happy with my new sewing machine. It's very lightweight, and I did think at first felt a little plasticy but the performance is brilliant. Much better than my thirty year old one. Very quiet and runs lovely and smoothly.
    (Submitted on 7/3/2015)


  2. Review by Sandra Hawkins
    Overall rating

    Though I have only started using the machine, I have found that it is easy to use, a lot quieter than my previous machine and I love the Grey colour. The delivery was very quick. would recommend this purchase
    (Submitted on 7/2/2015)


  3. Review by Sue
    Overall rating

    I've had my 9960 for just over a week now and I am delighted with it. It sews like a dream, is very quiet and looks lovely. There are lots of useful extras including presser feet, bobbins and machine needles. The abundance of different stitches is mind-blowing and I am not finished going through them all yet. The instruction booklet is good and I can also find lots of useful videos online to help me. This machine is far and above the best one I have ever used and for the price appears to do a lot more than other brands, which is another reason I bought it. Overall I would highly recommend the Singer 9960 sewing machine.
    (Submitted on 6/26/2015)


  4. Review by Jean Taylor
    Overall rating

    Excellent machine and easy to use. Compact so easy to store and the instruction manual is clear and easy to understand. Delivery was excellent, prompt and efficient. I have already made two pairs of curtains within 10 days of receiving my machine.
    (Submitted on 6/23/2015)


  5. Review by Debbie Balaam
    Overall rating

    I've just started sewing again after a long absence and was struggling with my old machine and decided to invest in this one and I'm really glad I did. It's superb, very easy to use and I like the fact that you can slow it down as one of my problems was the fact that my old machine used to run away and I couldn't stitch straight! Would recommend this to anyone.
    (Submitted on 6/20/2015)


  6. Review by Sheena Love
    Overall rating

    Just received my new machine, am enjoying getting to know the in's and out's of it . The instruction book is quite good maybe a little short on when to use different sizes of stitches but I will figure this out , on the whole a very compact machine. Many thanks Sheena l.
    (Submitted on 6/15/2015)


  7. Review by Rose Foster
    Overall rating

    This model is replacing my mother's singer sewing machine aged around 45 years! I am looking forward to rekindling my love of sewing now that I have retired from my day job!
    Delivery of the machine was free and extremely quick. Living north of Inverness we are often penalised and treated as if we are not on the mainland. That dictates who I buy from and I was delighted to find that Singer delivers here just the same as the rest of mainland UK. The machine was very simple and straight forward to thread. Filling a bobbin couldn't have been easier. The needle threader is just what I need now that I can't see the hole in the needle. After a couple of practices to see how it actually works, it is amazingly simple. I found the foot pedal very easy keep to a constant speed, slow or fast. The tacking stitches at the beginning and end of fancy stitching is excellent.
    I have tried out most of the stitches and they work really well. I used the Overedge Stitch - forms and finishes raw edge seems and it was very impressive. I will be using that a lot! My first real task will be blind hemming my curtains. I used this stitch on my mother's machine and it worked really well (30 years ago) I look forward to the updated version for my beautiful new curtains.It is a very good sewing machine.

    (Submitted on 5/28/2015)


  8. Review by Maxine
    Overall rating

    I brought this machine about 3 years ago. I had been wanting a machine for years and finally bit the bullet and decided I wanted to buy the best machine that I could afford. When I first got it I was over the moon, it stitched like a dream, then disaster struck. I couldn't get it to stitch properly for love nor money. I finally gave up and the machine was relegated to the spare bedroom. I didn't dare tell the other half. Then about 18 months ago I was flicking through the TV channels and saw a lady from Singer demonstrating new machines. She was talking about the common problems people have when they call the Singer help line. I listened with interest only to find out that most stitch problems were caused by the threading of the machine, and sometimes the use of poor quality cotton. I was a little sceptical, but I brought some good quality cotton, replaced the cotton in the bobbin and re-threaded the machine and since that day my machine has worked like a dream. It has coped easily with making quilts, bags, hemming curtains, altering a dress and taking up trousers. I now wouldn't be without it. Despite my unhappy start, I would be more than happy to recommend this machine and the words of wisdom from the lovely Sue at Singers helpline!
    (Submitted on 5/21/2015)


  9. Review by lsj
    Overall rating

    The singer one plus sewing machine is a dream. It is a lovely machine to look at well as use. Easy to use if a beginner, a wonderful machine to upgrade too. It has so many stitch patterns that one is spoilt for choice. I would recommend this singer to anyone who is thinking of purchasing a machine with lots of different types of stitch patterns for different types of projects. Its very useful to have the start/stop button and the speed control, it makes ease of doing difficult things like circles, as you can have the machine going as fast or as slow as you want to go. It is a very good price for all the features it has and competitive to other machines out there on the market. I'm thrilled with my purchase and love it to bits, I'm so glad I bought it and I'm sure I'm not the only person who thinks so highly of this singer one plus sewing machine.
    (Submitted on 4/21/2015)


  10. Review by Jessica
    Overall rating

    A great machine, easy to set up, does everything it says. The automatic needle threader took a few tries to get used to, but it really does work - very helpful for someone whose eyesight isn't what it was! After a few bits of test stitching I used it to sew lining fabric, which is usually tricky, but no trouble at all with this machine - so I'm confident it'll do what I need it to.

    As other people have said, the delivery service is really good too. I ordered this machine during a bank holiday weekend. The shipment was confirmed at lunchtime on Tuesday and it arrived at lunchtime on Wednesday, with follow-up emails in between to let me know when it was coming. Thanks for excellent service!
    (Submitted on 4/15/2015)


1 Item(s)